huhtikuu 16, 2024, 08:15:20 ap

Uutiset:

Iloista kasvatuskautta !!

Hydroponics questions

Aloittaja thamnophis, maaliskuu 08, 2006, 18:56:31 ip

« edellinen - seuraava »

thamnophis

I just found this sight and am impressed! Great info, great photos, amazing peppers. I'm new to any sort of gardening - I grew a few peppers last year and got hooked. I'm trying all sorts of things this year - probably over-doing it :-)

I'm curious about the cutting board hydroponics and have a few questions:

1.) Are (or can) the seeds (be) started in the rockwool and then the whole block of rockwool set into the plastic pots, expanded clay added then placed in the cutting board set up? How do the small seedlings get transferred to the cutting board set up?

2.) When transffering seedlings to the cutting board is the water level adjusted to cover the plant's roots? Or is the humidity high enough inside to allow the roots to grow in the air above the water?

3.) Does anyone know of aa cutting board type set up available in the US? - It seems one could make one out of the big, cheap rubbermaid containers if need be?

Thanks -

Joe

ilmr

1 & 2: Fatalii's new hydroponics section - http://juuri.org/growing/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=43&Itemid=62
3: I'd try your local hemp forum for an answer to that one. :-)
[/url]

Omskakas

I heard that some substances that might be poisonous can dissolve from Rubbermaid boxes to growing solution. I don't recommend using those in hydroponics.

thamnophis

I read through the very good info on hydro here and other web sites. I'm still not clear on one thing - how high the waterlevel should be in a cutting board type of set up.

Are the pots submerged (partially or totally) or is there supposed to be airspace between the bottom of the pots and the water? If there is supposed to be airspaace, how much? I can tell that eventually the roots grow out into the water.

Thanks,

Joe

TheBigX